Saturday, September 22, 2018

september 25 and 27 one color photos & side and silhouette photos





No phones except for classwork.
If your phones are out during instruction, place them face down. 

Do not listen to music in the classroom. No earbuds or headphones. 


80 is the highest possible grade for past due work.Past due assignments will not be accepted more than 2 class meetings after a due date.


Assignments are INDIVIDUAL unless assigned as team or group


Email assignments correctly

Here are the email instructions:


I will not accept your email if not done correctly.

That includes:
Your first and last name
The name of the assignment
Your block (or period)
Your assignment attached as a JPEG



•Check your grades
You may have done the assignment, but have not turned it in. Talk to me.



80 is the highest possible grade for past due work. Past due assignments will not be accepted more than 2 class meetings after a due date.



Today and this week:

•Make a folder, titled "Portfolio" with your finished assignments in it. 
Here's how to make a new folder:

Put these finished assignments
in your new "Portfolio" folder
You should have:
1. Digital Collage (the Rock)
2. Portraits with Filters
3. 5 photos of one color



•Be sure you have Chrome in your Dock
•Notes: Photographic composition (definition and image)
•Finish Assignment: one color Photoshop collage
• Second Assignment: side & silhouette photo

Thursday, September 20, 2018

email drawing

september 21 update

5 Photos of one color
•Will put in a Photoshop document next Tuesday
•Counts as Homework if you do not have them today

Today Make Portfolio folder
1. Rock Collage
2. Portraits with filters
http://stevecampbellhillwood.blogspot.com/2016/01/making-new-folder.html




Email drawing

http://hillwoodphoto1.blogspot.com/2018/09/email-drawing.html

Monday, September 3, 2018

portraits with filters sept 5


No phones except for classwork.

No earbuds or headphones for music. Use for classwork only.
Do not listen to music in the classroom.


Today:

•In Notes........Photoshop Adjustment Layer icon
•Load portrait photo or self portrait photo on computer
•Apply filters in Photoshop to create image such as Andy Warhol's "Marilyn" series.





Standards:

CREATE PRODUCE RESPOND CONNECT
Create
1. Generate and conceptualize artistic ideas and work.
2. Organize and develop artistic ideas and work.
3. Refine and complete artistic work.

Produce
2. Develop and refine artistic work for production.

Connect
1. Synthesize and relate knowledge and personal experiences to artistic endeavors.
2. Relate artistic ideas and works with societal, cultural, and historical context.

Together:
Open Photoshop

Go to Window>Essentials
Check Layers, Application Frame, Tools, Options

Go to File>New
Name: Your first and last name_Portrait with filters
Width: 16 inches (be sure it reads inches)
Height: 12 inches
Resolution: 200
Color Mode: RGB
Background contents: White

Click  OK
Go to File>Save As
Where: Your documents folder
Format: Photoshop

Go to the Move Tool and check Auto Select:Layer
Go to View and check Rulers
In the Rulers Bar, click hold and drag guide lines to mark off 4 inch sections















NOW..........Open your portrait photo
•Go to Image>Mode>Grayscale
•On the layers palette, make a copy of the background layer by pressing command+j
•Click once on the background layer eyeball to turn it off
•Select the layer above the background layer
•Go to Filter>Artistic>Cutout
•Start off with Number of Levels>4, Edge Simplicity>3, Edge Fidelity>2, but change for the effect you like best
•Click OK
•Save it as a JPEG onto your desktop

NOW go to your original Photoshop document (Portrait with Filters)
•Use the rectangular selection tool and drag it to select one of the squares. You should see marching ants.
•Go to File>Place Embedded and click on the JPEG image you have placed on your desktop.
•Resize it to fit the space. Edit>Free Transform. Click and hold Shift while you drag from a corner.
•Go to Layer>Rasterize Layer
•Cut out any extra image area by using the Rectangular Selection Tool
•At the Selection Tool, go to Select>Inverse
•Press delete 
•Select>Deselect
• Make copies of the image just finished. Select the Move Tool. Click and hold+the option key. Drag to position you want.

NOW
•Color images using mostly the Paint Bucket Tool
NOTE: Be sure you are on the layer you want to color or digitize.
•If you want to add a stroke or pattern, you need to do that with Edit>Stroke or Edit>Pattern














Assessment:
20 points each
1. Specifications (size, resolution, color mode, typography)
2. Tools used correctly
3. Document saved correctly
4. Correct quantity and type of images
5. Digital effects applied correctly